I can see clearly now the rain is gone…

October 16, 2012

I only ever wanted to live simply, where I could write and smell the world. It’s been a long road, but today I find myself living alone in a room in an old mill house in France with spectacular mountain views and villagers fit to be characters in a book. I don’t know how long I’ll be here, but for now I’m pleased and content. I won’t give my village a name or tell you where I’m at because I feel a need to protect this haven, this dream. Following are a few pictures of my writer’s nest.

All the season’s fruits are coming to an end. My driveway smells like fig jam with fermenting figs littering the ground. Late season tomatoes are juicy and perfumed. I’ve been cooking a lot lately. Made a pumpkin pie, sour cream pancakes, plum turnovers… For the figs a special person recently taught me that they’re best when they’re beginning to crack, bursting open while still on the tree. I agree.

This is the ever changing horizon of where I sleep and wake now. It’s enveloped with peace and abundance. What a joy it is to breathe.

6 Responses to “I can see clearly now the rain is gone…”

  1. Annie Fain said

    Lovely!…yes, Lovely. Figs and all.

    • Marian said

      “If we are peaceful, if we are happy, we can smile and blossom like a flower, and everyone in our family, our entire society, will benefit from our peace.”
      Thich Nhat Hanh

  2. Alain said

    I’m really glad to see you that happy…

  3. Ivan Sumner said

    Oh, what a joy it is to be able to breath!

  4. danigard said

    Oh how I long to be where ever it is you are. Stayed in a lovely village in Southern France last week and it took my breath away. My husband and I would like to go live there for a little while and do just as you are doing.

    • Thanks for reading. The life you’ve made in Spain doesn’t look too devoid of creative inspiration! But if you’re ever on the other French side of the Pyrenees, send a line, would love to swap stories over a drink. Courage. Avery

Leave a Reply

