Learning Trust

July 26, 2011

She said she usually cried at least once each day not because she was sad, but because the world was so beautiful and life was so short.  —Brian Andreas

 

I’ve been trying to remember a time in this life when I didn’t feel so bewildered. But there isn’t one. I can only come up with small moments, little pauses when none of it mattered, none of the angst, none of the questions, none of the beliefs, nothing. The time in between these moments has mostly been spent wondering how to get back there.

Last month, I contentedly found myself there. A moment of grace when I felt that everything was okay, and even if it wasn’t, that was okay too.

The day after driving my mother to the Barcelona airport following a three-week visit with her, Alain and I joined our hiking club for a trip high in the Pyrenees in the Ariege Department. It took a huge amount of effort to make it happen. In the midst of the scramble I wondered if I wasn’t forcing things too much, cramming so much into this little life that I was missing it altogether.

Instead, the trip restored my faith, in what I don’t know. I do know I didn’t feel like I was missing anything, anything at all. I was alive, in the moment, and nothing else mattered.

I’m sharing this trip here because while out there, so far away from all of you, I felt your energy. And I felt your presence tangibly… through the back-pack my Dad bought for my mother (which she never used, so I confiscated), through the Androsian camp towel Rick gave me years ago, through the gray ankle socks Sarah sent me…

Everything is connected. I think the peace found in moments like these comes from that simple acknowledgment. And so I connect us even more, via WordPress! Enjoy the photos:

The lakes of Rabassoles as seen from Pic Tarbessou.

Upside down mountain pose! In Charlie's recycled material Patagonia fleece, merci mon ami.

 

In my dream, the angel shrugged and said, If we fail this time, it will be a failure of imagination and then she placed the world gently in the palm of my hand. –Brian Andreas

 

Robin, our English neighbor in his 70's leads the way. His secret to staying fit? Date a younger woman.

 

Yep, that's snow. And that's me in the water. Do I still have the right to call myself a Floridian?

 

That's Patty's sports bra and Margarida's swim shorts. Yes Florida ladies, you went swimming in this icy mountain lake. Alain's in his underwear, nobody outfitted him for the trip 😉

 

They came to sit and dangle their feet off the edge of the world and after awhile they forgot everything but the good and true things they would do someday. –Brian Andreas

 

Rebecca, I bet you never thought your sun hat would end up on a mountain in the Pyrenees when you decided to put it in your yard sale in Everglades City!

 

We started the day at a lake at the same altitude on the other side of that peak in the background. We climbed the peak and descended to this lake where we were still only halfway down the mountain.

All my fellow North Carolina and Georgia medicinal plant enthusiasts came flooding to memory when our final descent took us through a blooming Valerian forest.

All my fellow North Carolina and Georgia medicinal plant enthusiasts came flooding to memory when our final descent took us through a blooming Valerian forest. Jennifer, Karen, Patricia, Susanna, Rachel...and of course Dad!

 

By the way, your wishes and support to see me writing more were not wasted. I’ve been writing for the Can Rigall blog and have recently been taken off toilet duty and moved to communications duty. To learn the details of my Ariege trip and to see what else we’ve been up to, visit the lodge blog at http://basecamppyrenees.com/

 

If you hold on to the handle, she said, it’s easier to maintain the illusion of control. But it’s more fun if you just let the wind carry you. –Brian Andreas

 

Leave a Reply

